Smith's Wood Parish Council
HomeStructure of the CouncilDates of Next MeetingsAgendasFull Council Meeting MinutesFinance & General Purposes Committee Meeting MinutesAnnual Parish Meeting MinutesExtraordinary Meeting MinutesGrant Aid for Local Groups - Guidelines for ApplicantsBulletin BoardContact UsFurther Information
Smith's Wood Parish Council - Structure of the Council

Structure of the Council

Finance and General Purposes Committee has the responsibility for the development of Council policy, for managing the Council’’s staffing requirements and costs, insurance, the financial management and running of the Council, co-ordinates the Parish Council’’s response to Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council’’s Planning Committee on planning applications that affect the Parish, is responsible for maintaining Council office and Community Gym based at Smith’’s Wood Primary Academy and the playing fields at Windward Way/Buckingham Road.

Staff Disciplinary and Grievance Committee has delegated authority to determine matters in relation to the formal stage of the Grievance Policy sections 2 to 3.1.2 and also to the formal stage of the Disciplinary Policy sections 3.2 to 3.5.

Appeals Committee has delegated authority to determine appeals in relation to: a) individual grievances; b) dismissals under the disciplinary procedure.

Parish Council Staff

The Parish Council have eight members of staff: the Parish Clerk (Karen Woods) who maintains the office and day to day running of the Parish Council. The Head Steward (Simon Upson) who maintains the running of the Community Gym. Other members of staff include four stewards (Jerina Parker, Sharon Lee, Vince McIntosh and Carol Shipway) and two cleaners (Helen Roberts-Dudey and Claire Lune).

Interacting with the Public 
The Parish Council is keen to maintain a close relationship with the local community that it represents. Parish Councillors must live within three miles of the parish boundary and must act in the interest of the area, or all of the inhabitants. Council meetings are held every month (apart from August) to a published agenda and the Council allow fifteen minutes for public question-time. Residents who have concerns or issues are encouraged to attend these meetings in person, or to approach their relevant Councillor direct. In addition, the Parish Council’’s Office (within Smith’’s Wood Primary Academy) is open weekdays (9.00am to 1.00pm) if members of the public want to lodge suggestions or complaints.



Cllr Don Cornock
247 Auckland Drive
Smith's Wood
B36 0QU
Telephone: 07818012136

Cllr Graham Craig
32 Sark Drive
Smith's Wood
B36 0NU
Telephone: 0121 681 2752

Cllr Adrian Duffen
15 Kennet Grove
Smith's Wood
B36 0TA
Telephone: 07870 108218 

Cllr Mrs Glynis Harrison
12 Ellice Drive
Smith's Wood
B36 0QD
Telephone: 0121 241 4151 

Cllr Hugh Hendry
71 Rathlin Croft
Smith's Wood
B36 0PL
Telephone: 0121 681 5923

Cllr Joan Lloyd
73 Greenfinch Road
Smith's Wood
B36 0QX

Cllr Kewal Singh Paul
c/o 25 Burton's Way
Smith's Wood
B36 0UG 

Cllr Mohammed Rashid
102 Park Hall Crescent
Castle Bromwich
B36 9SU
Telephone: 0121 747 1154

Cllr John Wilson
153 Greenfinch Road
Smith's Wood
B36 0QX
Telephone: 0121 681 2266


After the Local Elections held on Thursday 2nd May 2019, there are two vacant seats in the Bosworth Ward and following the death of a Councillor in December 2020, one vacant seat in the Burton Ward of Smith's Wood.  If anyone is interested in being co-opted onto the Parish Council, please contact Karen Woods, Clerk to the Council on: 0121 770 8846.  Information on Becoming a Parish Councillor can be found under Further Information.

To view the Parish Councillor's Register of Interests, please click the following link: